Survival phrases for your trip to Italy

Survival Italian Phrases

You have booked your trip to the land of pizza, pasta,and gelato. You have looked at pictures of your chosen destination and imagined yourself walking through the streets. You can’t stop thinking about the food you are going to eat and sights you are going to see.

wpid-20140815_161839.jpg

The challenge now is, how are you going to do all of this without knowing survival Italian phrases? Look no further, I have made a list of what I think are the most important phrases to know for your upcoming trip.

Greetings and small talk.

Buongiorno – good morning (used until 2/3pm).

Buona sera – Good evening

Ciao – hello/bye

Salve – Hello

Arrivederci – goodbye

Come ti chiami? – What’s your name?

Mi chiamo ….. – My name is …….

Piacere! – Nice to meet you!

Di dove sei? – Where are you from?

Sono britannico/a / americano/a  – I am British/American

Come stai? – How are you?

Bene – good

Grazie – Thank you

Grazie mille – literally: a thousand thanks or thank you very much

Prego – you’re welcome

A dopo – See you later

Scusa, non ho capito – Sorry I don’t understand

Parla inglese? – Do you speak English?

Si/No/Forse – yes/no/maybe

Mi scusi – Excuse me

Mi dispiace – I am sorry

wpid-img_20140520_171410.jpg

At the restaurant.

Vorrei prenotare un tavolo per due persone – I would like to book a table for two people.

Un tavolo per cinque, per favore – a table for five.

il menu, per favore – a menu, please.

Per me la pizza/pasta – I’ll have the pizza/pasta

E da bere? – and to drink?

un bicchiere di vino bianco – a glass of white wine.

una birra –  a beer.

fare la scarpetta – literally to make a shoe. To mop up the sauce on your plate after you have finished your meal.

il conto per favore – The bill please.

DSCN0699

At the hotel/hostel 

Vorrei prenotare una camera doppia per due notti – I’d like to book a double room for two nights.

Quanto costa la camera? – How much does the room cost?

Ho una camera prenotata, mi chiamo ….. – I have a room booked, my name is …..

A che ora è la colazione? – What time is breakfast?

È dalle 7:00 alle 10:00 – It’s from 7:00 to 10:00.

Posso lasciare il mio bagaglio qui? – Can I leave my luggage here?

wpid-screenshot_2014-06-17-12-16-46.png

 Asking for directions

Mi sono perso/a – I am lost

Potresti aiutarmi?/ potrebbe aiutarmi (formal)? – Can you help me?

Vada dritto e poi giri a destra/ sinistra – Go straight and then turn left/ right

I hope that these Italian phrases will be useful for your upcoming trip and that you will love Italy as much as I do! If you want to know some tips for learning Italian check out this post

A dopo

Lorena

xoxo

2 responses to “Survival phrases for your trip to Italy

Leave a Reply

