Brunch at Federal café Madrid

It’s Sunday, you have woken up and opened your shutters. Daylight comes streaming in and you realise it’s 12pm. What are you going to eat? It’s too late to get breakfast at a bar and it’s not lunchtime yet. The answer to your dilemma, brunch.

This is what happened to me last Sunday. Ever since arriving in Madrid, brunch has become prominent in my life. I have been to a few places for brunch around Madrid (reviews to come), but this was my first time having brunch at Federal café. I had heard so many rave reviews about their brunch. I might have stalked their instagram, and by might I mean I did. It increased my obsession with having brunch there.
image

We arrived at about 1250 and the queue for a table looked long. However,  it only took 10 minutes for to be seated, this was mainly because there was only two of us. A table of three opened up and we got to skip ahead of the groups. If you do go in a larger group I recommend going a little earlier so you won’t have to wait long for a table.

The staff were friendly and were quick at taking our order, but not too quick, giving us enough time to study the menu.
image

I chose the pineapple crush smoothie to drink and my friend choose the elderflower and cranberry drink. Both of which were ‘a dream’ as my friend said. We both decided to order the eggs Florentine. The picture on federal cafe’s instagram looked too good not to try them, and they were delicious.

image

They timed the arrival of the drinks perfectly, just before our food came out. Perfect for taking that instagram picture.

image

I was extremely happy with brunch at Federal café. There is a great atmosphere there. It is a place for everyone, from Spanish families to multicultural friend groups.

Location: Plaza Comendadoras 9, near metro noviciado. They are also in Barcelona. 

Price: my smoothie and eggs Florentine cost €12.50. Expect to pay around €15 depending on what you order.

Opening Hours: Monday – Thursday 08:00 – 24:00, Friday 08:00 – 01:00, Saturday 09:00 – 01:00, Sunday 09:00 – 17:30

Note: They do not take bookings. 

Have you ever been to federal? What’s your favourite brunch place in Madrid?

Lorena

Xoxo

2 responses to “Brunch at Federal café Madrid

  1. Pingback: Favourite Reads 8 March | sunshine and Lorena·

  2. Pingback: Brunch at Carmencita | sunshine and Lorena·

Leave a Reply

