My 2015 goals

I am not the type of person to make new year resolutions, because one way or another they will be broken. The classic ‘I am going to go to the gym/eat healthier’, barely lasts until the end of January.

There will not be any resolutions for me this year, but instead goals. I do believe that it’s good to set yourself some goals to achieve. Hopefully by the end of 2015 I would have achieved them.

Here are my 2015 goals:

Do more Europe based travel instead of country based travel.
When I live in a foreign country I tend to just travel around that country, like in Italy last year or Spain in 2010/11. It is definitely not a bad thing, but since I did a huge chunk of Spain in 2011 I want to travel more to other European countries.
I started the new year by flying to Budapest on the 1st then I went to Prague. I am going to Dublin next week and at the start of March I am going to Lisbon. So far I am doing well to achieve this goal!

image

Looking at the Charles bridge in Prague

Take a solo trip.
I have been wanting to take a solo trip for a while. I have done a couple of mini overnight solo trips, but never a real solo trip. Sometimes it is just nice to have a trip where you only do things that you want to do.

image

Me on my mini solo trip

Read more and watch less TV programmes.
Recently I have found myself watching too much TV programmes and not reading enough. My timetable here is packed so most of the time to relax I sit down and watch TV. My plan is to try read books instead of watching five episodes of friends. Hopefully I will read one book a month.

Improve my Spanish.

The problem with being an auxiliar is that you have to speak English all day. I actually don’t get to speak much Spanish in my day to day life. My plan is to go to some intercambios to speak more Spanish. I am living in Spain so I really should be constantly improving my level.

Work out what I want my career to be.

The past few months here has made me realise that I don’t want to be a teacher. I might have had a different opinion if I was working in the primary school all the time, but I will never know.
I have come to realise that I need to be in a job where I have some goals to work towards, and where there is the chance for promotion. I am also sick and tired of having to do private lessons to supplement my income. Only working 9-5 sounds amazing to me right now! By the end of 2015 I might be in a different country with a new job.

Watch this space!

Have you made any resolutions or goals?

Lorena

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

