Monday Snapshot: Mondello

image

Mondello on a hot August day

I am currently enjoying my summer in Italy. Mondello is one of my favourite beaches.


The beach sellers make it far more interesting. You won’t always understand them because they speak in dialect. You will here shouts of ‘cocco bello’ or as one man says ‘cocco be’. My favourite by far is the ‘king’ of corn on the cob. You will hear him shouting in dialect: ‘mi chiamano u re ri pollanca. Signora, signorina e signorinella la mia pollanca e’ la piu’ bella.’ ‘They call me the king of the cob. Mrs, Miss and little Misses my corn on the cob is the most beautiful!’

Have you ever been to Mondello? 
What do your favourite sellers say?

Lorena
Xoxo

Leave a Reply

