My response to the viral blog post ’23 things’

I am sure many of you know what post I am talking about. If not here it is ‘23 things to do instead of getting engaged before you’re 23′. I am almost 23 (and I’m having a small crisis about it. See it here) and I am not engaged.

The post has went viral. There has been so many responses to it. Everyone seems (as the American’s say) to want to put their two cents in. Hater’s are going to hate and liker’s are going to like.

I find it funny that people seem to be getting their knickers in a twist over something that is quite obviously not to be taken too seriously. One of the responses has been Why I love that article ’23 things to do instead of getting engaged before you’re 23. She thinks the same thing that I do, it’s not to be taken too seriously. Tick the things off the list before you get engaged or don’t.

There have been people who have insisted changing the lists to prove that getting engaged or married before 23 doesn’t stop you doing these things. Have a look at these: a response to 23 things to do instead of getting engaged23 things I still can do after getting married at 22 and sorry. I’m not sorry. (my response to 23 things). I am sure that Vanessa Elizabeth did not mean that you can’t do these once you are engaged/married. That would be really stupid.

Then there is ’24 things to do instead of getting married before 24, a response’. Taylor has written her own list of things that she thinks are more meaningful to do before getting married. She has a point, you can do other things that will make a difference to someone elses life or just to be a better person. Looking at that list there are a few things that I should do. However, I won’t do them because I can’t do them after I am married but rather to make me a more well-rounded person.

Andrea has said ‘I don’t care if you get engaged before you turn 23. I don’t care either. Well I don’t care in the sense that it’s your life and you can do what you want. I know so many people who have got engaged before 23. I think it’s great when people find that one person that they want to spend their life with. It doesn’t matter if they find them at 20, 30 or 60. All getting married changes is that you have someone to achieve your goals with. I hope one day I will have that too.

I personally think that if you are single, engaged or married everyone should take a look at these 30 life changing quotes by Dr. Seuss. 

My personal favourite is  number 21 (coincidentally my favourite number). Be who you are and say what you mean. Because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.’ I think it sums up completely the original post and all the responses out there. Everyone has an opinion about someone elses opinion but really it doesn’t matter. All that matters is your own opinion ‘because those who mind don’t matter’. 

This is all I have to say on the matter. It doesn’t matter to me if you agree with my opinion or not. Everyone is entitled to their own.

Ciaaaoooo 🙂

One response to “My response to the viral blog post ’23 things’

  1. Heey there would yoou minhd sharng whifh blog platfor you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my oown bog soon but I’m having a hartd time making a decisikon betweeen BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution andd
    Drupal. Thhe reason I assk iss because your designn seems diifferent then moat blogs and I’m looking foor
    something completely unique. P.S Sorty forr bering off-topic butt
    I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

