Alberobello, a visit to the heel

Alberobello is a beautiful town in the region of Puglia. It is famous for its trulli buildings which are a world heritage site, once you see them you will understand why. They are a very unique style of building with pointed roofs. As you walk through the streets where the trulli are one can imagine what life once was there.

Image

The Trulli in the distance

I took a day trip there in summer 2012 when I was visiting the bf in the South of Italy. Alberobello attracts many tourists but honestly what part of Italy doesn’t. When I was there in August 2012 there were many tourists wandering the streets taking far too many pictures. I have to admit I did the same, but I couldn’t resist taking pictures of these ancient houses. Here are a select few of my pictures from my day there.

IMG_5133 IMG_5135 IMG_5138

If you are in this part of Italy I recommend that you visit Alberobello to see the trulli. Where else would you see houses that look like gnomes should live in? 😛

IMG_5084 IMG_5141

I have only been in the centre of Italy as well as the South but the differences are quite obvious. The trulli are an example of the difference in architecture and that is just the start of the divide between the North and South. The food, eating times etc are different depending on which part of the country you are in but that can be discussed another time.

I think thats enough for one post. I will leave you with one last picture….

IMG_5155

Rough translation: ‘Let your dog poo at your own house’

Leave a Reply

