Italian word of the week: Sciopero

Another week has gone by and I learned a new word: sciopero.

What does it mean? Well it means strike. I am sure you don’t need any clues about how I learned this word.

The verb is scioperare. 

Why is it my word of the week? There was a transportation strike here on Monday. Of course it happened on the only Monday that I was supposed to go through to work for a meeting. For the trains the strike was only starting at 5pm which meant I could go no problem but they couldn’t guarantee that there would be trains running for me coming back. So basically I couldn’t go incase I got stranded there.

Here’s hoping that I won’t come across too many strikes while I am here!

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

