Italian word of the week: Allora

So far you have learned two Italian words from me – schifo and dimentico.

This weeks word is allora.

Why is it my word of the week? Well in Italy you will hear it used a lot. Like a lot! When I was at the Comenius meeting we were asked what message would we put in a bottle from Italy. One assistant said ‘what does allora mean?’ It takes awhile to get your head around the word because it is used so much during conversations here and its never in the same context. To understand have a look here on word reference.

As you can see in English it can be translated by many words but at the same time it doesn’t mean anything. It can just be used as a throw away word or a filler while the person thinks what to say.

But what does allora mean? It means: so, then, therefore, in that case, in that moment and the list goes on.

Here are some examples of when it is used in conversation.
Allora ci vediamo dopo – so I will see you soon

E allora – so what

ok, allora ti aspetto – ok, then, I will be waiting for you

Allora thats the end of my explanation of allora. I hope it can help you in understanding its use.

Allora ci vediamo

P.S. I got my 1000 view today. Thanks to all who follow and read my posts 🙂

2 responses to “Italian word of the week: Allora

  1. Pingback: Word of the week: di nuovo | sunshine and olive adventures·

  2. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and without
    a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough people
    are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Leave a Reply

