My first proper weekend in Perugia

This was my first proper full weekend in Perugia and it was gooood!

On Friday night it was mezza notte bianca in Corso Cavour. There was plenty of live music along the street. The bars set up on the street to sell their drinks as well as a couple of food places. Basically it was a huge street party. It was an all round fun night and nothing quite like in the UK.

DSCN0738 DSCN0741 DSCN0743

Have a look here at my video of the band.

There was also a vintage fair on all weekend. They had vintage vespas, lambrettas, motorbikes and cars as well selling vintage clothes, sunglasses, bags, records etc. I saw a bride and groom getting their pictures taken on a vintage vespa. The same bride and groom I saw earlier by the fountain getting pictures.

DSCN0733

DSCN0763

I also finally watched an Italian sunset, which was just beautiful!

DSCN0755

DSCN0756

On Sunday me and the bf took a walk through the centre and got gelato. This time I went to a gelateria on a side street. It is called Gambrinus and its located on Viale Vittorio Veneto.

DSCN0776

They have amazing gelato and plenty of flavours to choose from. They had my ultimate favourite amarena cherry! Yum, yum! I also had kinder which was just as delicious. Not only did it taste wonderful but they give you a good sized portion making it value for your money.

Take a look at the pictures on their website. If they don’t make you want go there for your gelato then maybe the loyalty card will. It was a nice surprise to be given one which means I will get a free gelato once I have had 12 stamps. Trust me I am sure I will get that free gelato. For me Gambrinus beats Grom. If you are in Perugia and you have a craving for gelato pop in and give it a try! You won’t regret it.

To finish off my Sunday night me and the bf got pizza from La Romantica on Borgo XX Giugno. It is another pizzeria that comes highly recommended by locals just like La Mediterranea . You will most definitely won’t be disappointed and like most other pizzerias its quite cheap. La Perugina only costs €5! Great value for money. Their pizzas are amazing just take a look at the ones we had…

DSCN0784

La Perugina – tomato, mozzarella and fresh sausage.

DSCN0786

La Capricciosa – tomato, mozzarella, wurstel, green olives, mushrooms and artichokes.

If you are feeling seriously hungry they do a metre pizza, which also looked amazing. If you are a bigger group then maybe that is a better option for you.

All in all it was an amazing weekend with lots of fun and great food.

Ciao! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

